TRENTON – Finally, New Jersey bakers will soon be able to start âhome cookingâ businesses in their home kitchens.
New Jersey was the only state where home baked goods businesses weren’t legal, but that changed with rules published on Monday by the state health ministry.
Within days or weeks, whenever the status is updated his website, bakers will be able to apply for a two-year license at a cost of $ 100 that will allow them to establish businesses run from their homes, rather than having to bake in a commercial kitchen.
The rule change is the result of a trial, not a change in state law. A bill that would set requirements for home baked goods was passed in the Senate in 2020 and went to an Assembly committee a year ago, but has not obtained final approval from the ‘Assembly.
Change was long sought by advocates and a cause for celebration among groups such as the New Jersey Home Bakers Association.
The gross income of home bakery businesses cannot exceed $ 50,000, among other rules, such as labels with lists of ingredients and possible allergens.
Kitchen inspections are not required before a permit is issued, but could occur if complaints are made.
Michael Symons is the State House bureau chief for New Jersey 101.5. Contact him at [email protected].
The best cheeseburgers in New Jersey
Everyone has their favorite burger. Chances are, one of these places is right next to you. In honor of National Cheeseburger Day on Friday, September 17, here are some of New Jersey’s best cheeseburger joints according to Trev’s social media.